How to choose…

September 20, 2007

After I did loads of research I initially decided to choose a hospital consultant to do my breast augmentation. For those not familiar with the Irish health system (which I’m assuming is everyone…even Irish people!), here we have more public hospitals than private clinics. So consultants in plastic surgery working in the big city hospitals would have their own private practices where they do cosmetic surgeries. These guys are safe to choose because they are definitely regulated (they have to be to do their public work).
But then, after reading a bit more, I decided it could be safer to choose a surgeon who has done hundreds of ops. I read a personal journal of a girl who had her breasts done in the Advanced Cosmetic Surgery clinic in Dublin and she said they are top class. I’ve heard that before, but because I’m not going to trust ads and rumours, I’m checking them out for myself. They’re the longest established clinic in the country though, and the most popular, so I think it’s a good choice. (Note: I’m not going to mention ACS much on here because I don’t want this to become an advertisement for their clinics!)
If I feel dodgy about ACS though I’ll just choose another surgeon. I’m guessing it’s going to cost about 6000 euro but it could be more.

Leave a Reply

